Wednesday, June 18, 2008

Electoral Area Boundary Committee Report 2008 for Co. Waterford recommends radical changes for 2009 Local Elections

Cick on image to enlarge

In order to ....... rebalance the population per member within County Waterford, the Committee recommends: -

1. The transfer of electoral divisions as follows:
1.1. Ballyheeny, Clashmore, Dromore and Keereen (total population 1,372) from
Dungarvan to Lismore electoral area.

2. The creation of a new electoral area as follows:

2.1. A new electoral area of Comeragh to be created by amalgamating the existing electoral areas of Suir and Kilmacthomas.

The redistribution of council seats among the electoral areas as follows:

3.1. Dungarvan 6-seats; Lismore 4-seats; Comeragh 6-seats; Tramore 7-seats.

The following is a detailed description of each recommended electoral area:
The town of Dungarvan and the electoral divisions of Ardmore, Aird Mhór, An Rinn,
Baile Mhac Airt, Bohadoon, Cappagh, Carriglea, Clonea (in the former Rural District
of Dungarvan), Colligan, Courmaraglin, Dungarvan Rural, Glenwilliam, Grallagh,
Grange, Kinsalebeg, Modelligo (in the former Rural District of Dungarvan),

The electoral divisions of Ballyduff, Ballyhane, Ballyheeny, Ballyin, Ballynamult,
Ballysaggartmore, Cappoquin, Castlerichard, Clashmore, Dromana, Dromore,
Drumroe, Gortnapeaky, Keereen, Kilcockan, Kilwatermoy East, Kilwatermoy West,
Lismore Rural, Lismore Urban, Mocollop, Modelligo (in the former Rural District of
Lismore), Seskinan, Tallow, Templemichael, Whitechurch.

The electoral divisions of Annestown, Ballydurn, Ballylaneen, Ballymacarbry,
Carrigcastle, Carrickbeg Rural, Clonea (in the former Rural District of Carrick-on-Suir
No.2), Comeragh, Dunhill, Fenoagh, Fews, Fox’s Castle, Gardenmorris,
Georgestown, Glen, Graignagower, Gurteen, Kilbarrymeaden, Kilmacomma,
Kilmacthomas, Kilmeaden (in the former Rural District of Carrick-on-Suir No.2),
Kilmeaden (in the former Rural District of Waterford No.1), Kilronan,
Knockaunbrandaun, Knockmahon, Mothel, Mountkennedy, Newcastle, Newtown,
Portlaw, Rathgormuck, Ross, St Mary’s, Stradbally, Tinnasaggart.

The electoral divisions of Ballynakill, Drumcannon, Faithlegg, Islandikane, Kilbarry,
Killea, Killoteran, Kilmacleague, Pembrokestown, Rathmoylon, Reisk, Tramore,

Electoral Area Boundary Committe Report 2008 (Full Report can be sourced here)

No comments: